Centre Staff

One of the Centre's greatest strengths is its multidisciplinary and highly skilled staff who work together in flexible projects teams, also incorporating selected PhD students, to deliver cutting edge research.

Members of the Centre help to inform the global manufacturing industry in numerous ways. The Centre’s research is fully integrated into Loughborough University’s wider infrastructure, allowing academic members to collaborate closely with an influential group of industrial and academic centers of excellence. Centre members also communicate their research findings through publications, consultation with government and industry, engagement with small and medium enterprises and membership at influential Committees and Boards.

Management Team

Dr Niels Lohse

  • Centre Director and Reader in Manufacturing Automation & Robotics
  • Dipl Ing, MSc, PhD, MIEEE

+44 (0)1509 227625
n.lohse@lboro.ac.uk

Prof Mike Jackson

  • Visiting Professor
  • BSc, MSc, PhD, FIMechE

Key People

Dr Thomas Bamber

  • Lecturer in Robotics & Autonomous Systems
  • MEng, PhD

+44 (0)1509 227218
t.bamber@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Pedro Ferreira

  • Lecturer in Manufacturing Systems
  • PhD

+ 44 (0)1509 227618
p.ferreira@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Mey Goh

  • Senior Lecturer in Product Design
  • BEng (Hons), PhD

+44 (0)1509 227672
y.goh@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Ella-Mae Hubbard

  • Senior Lecturer in Systems Engineering
  • MEng, DIS, PhD, SFHEA, Tech.CIEHF

+44 (0)1509 227092
e.hubbard@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Laura Justham

  • Senior Lecturer in Manufacturing Processes
  • PhD, MPhys.DIS

+44 (0)1509 227553
l.justham@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Peter Kinnell

  • Senior Lecturer in Metrology and Automation
  • MEng DIS, PhD, CEng, MIMechE

+44 (0)1509 227146
p.kinnell@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Andrea Soltoggio

  • Lecturer in Artificial Intelligence
  • PhD, FHEA

+44 (0)1509 635748
a.soltoggio@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Ali Al-Yacoub

  • Research Associate

Dr Istvan Biro

  • Research Associate

+44 (0)1509 227081
i.biro@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Jonathan Clarke

  • Lab Manager & Senior Research Engineer

+44 (0)1509 226580
j.h.clarke@lboro.ac.uk

More

James Dobrzanski

  • Research Associate

Dr William Eaton

  • Research Associate

Dr John Hodgson

  • Research Associate

Dr Joanna Turner

  • Research Associate

Abdulaziz Alotaibi

  • "Applying Multi-Agent System to Reduce Energy Consumption in Flexible Manufacturing Systems"

Paul Danny Anandan

  • "Reliability-Based Methodology to Support Reuse or Buy Decisions for Automation Components"

Achim Buerkle

  • "Cyber-Human Integration in Industry 4.0"

Jordan Crawford

  • “A Systems Engineering Approach for Autonomous Technologies”

Daniel De Becker

  • “Hybrid Manufacturing using an Industrial Robotic Arm within the Railway Maintenance Industry”

Myles Flanagan

  • "Multi-Agent Based Systems within Manufacturing"

Piotr Fratczak

  • “Robot Learning with Human Emotions by Means of Immersive Virtual and Augmented Reality”

Mohammed Mabkhot

  • "Exploring the Benefits of Applying a Symbiotic System during Ramp-up Time in Industry 4.0 Environments"

Dominic McKean

  • "Novel Methods to Enhance Safe Physical Collaboration between Humans and Robots for Industrial Application"

Dr Simon Micheler

  • “Early-Stage Decision Support for the Implementation of Intelligent Automation”

Flavio Pascoa

  • "Overcoming Integration Challenges of Non-Homogeneous Legacy Systems"

Peter Wilson

  • "Characterisation of Linear Friction Welding Machine Performance Variation and its Influence on Weld Properties"

Melanie Zimmer

  • “Decision Support Framework for System Ramp-Up towards Improving Production Sustainability”

Dr Keith Lorenz

  • “Reducing Process Variability through Automation in Hybrid Manufacturing”

Dawn Schubert

  • Administrative Officer

+44 (0)1509 227084
d.schubert@lboro.ac.uk

More