Centre Staff

One of the Centre's greatest strengths is its multidisciplinary and highly skilled staff who work together in flexible projects teams, also incorporating selected PhD students, to deliver cutting edge research.

Members of the Centre help to inform the global manufacturing industry in numerous ways. The Centre’s research is fully integrated into Loughborough University’s wider infrastructure, allowing academic members to collaborate closely with an influential group of industrial and academic centers of excellence. Centre members also communicate their research findings through publications, consultation with government and industry, engagement with small and medium enterprises and membership at influential Committees and Boards.

Management Team

Dr Niels Lohse

  • Centre Director and Reader in Manufacturing Automation & Robotics
  • Dipl Ing, MSc, PhD, MIEEE

+44 (0)1509 227625
n.lohse@lboro.ac.uk

Prof Mike Jackson

  • Visiting Professor
  • BSc, MSc, PhD, FIMechE

Key People

Dr Pedro Ferreira

  • Lecturer in Manufacturing Systems
  • PhD

+ 44 (0)1509 227618
P.Ferreira@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Mey Goh

  • Senior Lecturer in Product Design
  • BEng (Hons), PhD

+44 (0)1509 227672
y.goh@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Ella-Mae Hubbard

  • Senior Lecturer in Systems Engineering
  • MEng, DIS, PhD, SFHEA, Tech.CIEHF

+44 (0)1509 227092
E.Hubbard@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Laura Justham

  • Senior Lecturer in Manufacturing Processes
  • PhD, MPhys.DIS

+44 (0)1509 227553
l.justham@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Peter Kinnell

  • Senior Lecturer in Metrology and Automation
  • MEng DIS, PhD, CEng, MIMechE

+44 (0)1509 227146
p.kinnell@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Andrea Soltoggio

  • Lecturer in Artificial Intelligence
  • PhD, FHEA

+44 (0)1509 635748
A.Soltoggio@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Ali Al-Yacoub

  • Research Associate

Dr Thomas Bamber

  • Research Engineer

+44 (0)1509 227218
t.bamber@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Istvan Biro

  • Research Associate

+44 (0)1509 227081
i.biro@lboro.ac.uk

More

Dr Jonathan Clarke

  • Senior Research Engineer

+44 (0)1509 226580
j.h.clarke@lboro.ac.uk

More

James Dobrzanski

  • Research Associate

Dr William Eaton

  • Research Associate

John Hodgson

  • Research Associate

Abdulaziz Alotaibi

  • "Applying Multi-Agent System to Reduce Energy Consumption in Flexible Manufacturing Systems"

Achim Buerkle

  • "Cyber-Human Integration in Industry 4.0"

Jordan Crawford

  • “A Systems Engineering Approach for Autonomous Technologies”

Paul Danny

  • "Reliability-Based Methodology to Support Reuse or Buy Decisions for Automation Components"

Daniel De Becker

  • “Hybrid Manufacturing using an Industrial Robotic Arm within the Railway Maintenance Industry”

Dr Khaled El-Geneidy

  • "Soft Grippers for Delicate and Complex Component Manipulation"

Piotr Fratczak

  • “Robot Learning with Human Emotions by Means of Immersive Virtual and Augmented Reality”

Dr Spartak Ljasenko

  • “Self-Organisation of Mobile Robots in Large Structure Assembly Using Multi-Agent Systems”

Dominic McKean

  • "Novel Methods to Enhance Safe Physical Collaboration between Humans and Robots for Industrial Application"

Simon Micheler

  • “Early-Stage Decision Support for the Implementation of Intelligent Automation”

Dr Shreedhar Rangappa

  • "Automated Visual Inspection using Plenoptic Cameras"

Melanie Zimmer

  • “Decision Support Framework for System Ramp-Up towards Improving Production Sustainability”

Keith Lorenz

  • “Reducing Process Variability through Automation in Hybrid Manufacturing”

Dawn Schubert

  • Administrative Officer

+44 (0)1509 227084
d.schubert@lboro.ac.uk

More